TEAM

Prof. Sebastian Sternal

Artistic Director Jazz Campus Mainz

Sebastian Sternal, professor for jazz piano and jazz ensemble at the Mainz School of Music, studied in Cologne and Paris and has worked with jazz greats like Dee Dee Bridgewater, David Binney and John Riley. His concert tours took him all over the world. He won numerous prizes, such as the WDR Jazzpreis 2007, the Concours piano jazz Martial Solal 2010, Neuer Deutscher Jazzpreis 2014, Annual Award of the German Schallplattenkritik 2015, and the ECHO Jazz in 2013, 2016, and 2018. His project Sternal Symphonic Society combines young musicians from jazz and classical music. In 2017, his trio album "Home" with Larry Grenadier and Jonas Burgwinkel was released and celebrated by the audience and professionals alike. 

As part of his GRC fellowship, Sternal plans the development of the Jazz Campus Mainz, which will include the implementation of a first-rate European ensemble as well as the establishment of a Jazz Summer School and a university big band.

 

 

 

Andreas Dittinger

Artistic Advisor, Manager Gutenberg Jazz Collective and excellence programs 


Andreas Dittinger studied jazz piano at the music academies in Mainz and Mannheim and also holds two degrees in international management from the ESB Business School in Reutlingen and the Northeastern University in Boston. In addition to his own projects such as the Andreas Dittinger Trio and various activities as a sideman, he acts as producer and musical director of the Loft Arts Music Show, in which he brings rap and R’n’B greats to the stage with a large live band. During his studies, Andreas received a teaching position at the University of Music in Würzburg and works as a lecturer at various other educational institutions. He is managing director of the Gutenberg Jazz Collective for the Jazz Campus Mainz and advises the artistic direction.
 

 

 

 

Mirko Meurer

Artistic Advisor, Manager Summer School and music educational programs

Mirko Meurer has studied music education, musicology and has certifications in Music Business Management and Vocal Education for Popular Singing. He has been working for many years in youth and adult educational professions and programs for jazz and pop (instrumental and singing lessons, big band leading for amateur and semi-professional big bands, coachings for small jazz ensembles, seminars for jazz theory, musical study advice, etc.). In addition, he is active as a jazz singer in the swing genre, as administrator of the Jazz Landesverband "JAZZ RLP", as networker for jazz, jazz education and vocal pedagogy at the state and federal level and cooperates closely with the Landesmusikakademie RLP, Jugend jazztthe Musikgymnasium RLP, Deutsche Jazz Union and vocal educational networks. He is also a member of the commission for the recasting of the curriculum for popular singing at public music schools in Germany and from the summer semester 2021 lecturer in jazz and popular singing at the university of Koblenz. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Klaus Gasteiger

Artistic Advisor Gutenberg Jazz Collective and excellence programs 

Musician, cultural manager, concert dramaturg. Gasteiger studied jazz music at the University of Music in Würzburg and subsequently completed a degree in cultural management at the University of Education in Ludwigsburg. He has been working for BASF in Ludwigshafen for many years in the areas of social engagement, corporate citizenship and concert events also. As part of this work he has implemented cultural projects abroad - for example in Shanghai, Mumbai and New York. For Jazz Campus Mainz he acts as consultant to the artistic director. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Petra Hertel

Assistant to the project management 

Since 2013, as an administrative assistant at the University of Music, she supervises the study programs Jazz and Popular Music, elementary music education and guitar (M.A.).
She is a collaborator in the organization and application of the Jazz Campus Mainz program.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Silas Engel

Social Media

Silas Engel is currently studying jazz trumpet and piano at the University of Music Mainz with Frank Wellert, Axel Schlosser and Matthias Bergmann, among others, and plays in various ensembles and bands in the university environment. In addition, he participated in the State Youth Jazz Orchestra Hessen, but is not only at home in jazz. Whether reggae, Latin, funk or neo-soul. Since 2019 he has been working as a research assistant with Moritz Reinisch - sound engineer of the HfM Mainz - as sound engineer, cinematographer and image director (e.B. as part of "and we are LIVE..."). Together with Eddy Sonnenschein, he is responsible for the content and administrative support of the social media channels as well as advice and support in the web presence for the Jazz Campus Mainz.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eddy Sonnenschein

Social Media

Eddy Sonnenschein is a jazz drummer and improvisation artist from Mainz. Since the beginning of his jazz studies at the HfM Mainz with Hendrik Smock, he has been able to work and perform with many of his lecturers and mentors in the context of various projects, e.B. sebastian Sternal, Claudius Valk, Ulf Kleiner, Rafael Klemm, etc. Particularly noteworthy is the program for the Beethoven year 2020 with his band Stella and Claudius Valk. With this band, Eddy recorded his jazz debut album at LOFT Köln in the summer of 2020 (VÖ: early 2021). Also in 2021, an album with the Rainald Brederling Quintet will be released as part of a release tour. They dedicate themselves to their own compositions between modern jazz and free improvisation. In addition to these two main projects, Eddy is a sideman in various bands, including faction Fe, Klaus Gasteiger Organ Trio, Barbara Greshake and band, etc. Eddy Sonnenschein is sponsored by Live-Music-Now and the Hans- und Eugenia Jütting Stiftung. Together with Silas Engel, he is responsible for the content and administrative support of the social media channels as well as advice and support in the web presence for the Jazz Campus Mainz.

TEAM

Prof. Sebastian Sternal

Künstlerische Leitung Jazz Campus Mainz

Sebastian Sternal, Professor für Jazzklavier und -ensemble an der Hochschule für Musik Mainz, studierte in Köln und Paris und hat mit Jazzgrößen wie Dee Dee Bridgewater, David Binney und John Riley zusammengearbeitet; seine Konzertreisen führten ihn durch alle Welt. Er hat zahlreiche Preise gewonnen, darunter den WDR Jazzpreis 2007, den Concours piano jazz Martial Solal 2010, den Neuen Deutschen Jazzpreis 2014, den Jahrespreis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik 2015 sowie den ECHO Jazz in den Jahren 2013, 2016 und 2018. Sein Projekt Sternal Symphonic Society vereint herausragende junge Musiker aus Jazz und Klassik. 2017 erschien sein von Publikum und Fachwelt gleichermaßen gefeiertes Trio-Album "Home" mit Larry Grenadier und Jonas Burgwinkel.

Im Rahmen des GFK-Fellowships ist der Aufbau des Jazz Campus Mainz geplant, der unter anderem die Implementierung eines europäisches Spitzen-Ensembles sowie die Etablierung einer Jazz Summer School und den Aufbau einer universitären Bigband beinhalten soll.

 

 

 

Andreas Dittinger

künstlerische Beratung,  Geschäftsführung Gutenberg Jazz Collective, Angebote der Exzellenzförderung

Andreas Dittinger hat an den Musikhochschulen in Mainz und Mannheim Jazzklavier studiert und hält zudem zwei Abschlüsse in International Management von der ESB Business School in Reutlingen und der Northeastern University in Boston. Neben seinen eigenen Projekten wie dem Andreas Dittinger Trio und diversen Tätigkeiten als Sideman fungiert er als Produzent und musikalischer Leiter der Loft Arts Music Show, in der er Rap- und R’n’B-Größen mit großer Live-Band auf die Bühne bringt. Bereits während seines Studiums erhielt Andreas einen Lehrauftrag an der Hochschule für Musik Würzburg und ist als Dozent an verschiedensten weiteren Bildungseinrichtungen tätig. Für den Jazz Campus Mainz ist er geschäftsführend für das Gutenberg Jazz Collective tätig und steht der künstlerischen Leitung beratend zur Seite.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mirko Meurer

künstlerische Beratung, Geschäftsführung Summer School und Angebote der musikalischen Breitenförderung

Mirko Meurer hat Musikpädagogik und Musikwissenschaften studiert und ist in Music Business Management und Gesangspädagogik für Populären Gesang zertifiziert. Er ist in der Jugendlichen- und Erwachsenenbildung für Jazz/Pop tätig (Instrumental- und Gesangsunterricht, Big Band Leitung, Coachings für small ensembles, Jazztheorie, musikalische Studienberatung u.m.). Daneben ist er als Jazz- / Swingsänger, als Generalsekretär des Jazzlandesverbands “JAZZ RLP” und in der Netzwerkarbeit für Jazzvermittlung und Gesangspädagogik auf Landes- und Bundesebene aktiv und arbeitet eng u.a. mit der Landesmusikakademie RLP, Jugend jazzt, dem Landesmusikgymnasium RLP,  der Deutschen Jazz Union und gesangspädagogischen Netzwerken für Jazz und Pop zusammen. Außerdem ist er Mitglied der Kommission für die Neugestaltung des Lehrplans für Populären Gesang an allen vdm Musikschulen in Deutschland und ab dem Sommersemester 2021 Lehrbeauftragter für Jazz und Populären Gesang an der Universität Koblenz. 

 

 

 

 

 

Klaus Gasteiger

künstlerische Beratung für den Bereich Gutenberg Jazz Collective und "Tonkult trifft"

Musiker, Kulturmanager, Konzertdramaturg. Gasteiger hat an der Hochschule für Musik in Würzburg Jazzmusik studiert und anschließend an der pädagogischen Hochschule in Ludwigsburg Kulturmanagement absolviert. Er ist seit Jahren für das Unternehmen BASF in Ludwigshafen im Bereich Gesellschaftliches Engagement, Kulturförderung und Konzertveranstaltungen tätig. Im Rahmen dieser Tätigkeit hat er Kulturprojekte im In- und Ausland umgesetzt - beispielsweise in Shanghai, Mumbai und New York. Für den Jazz Campus Mainz steht er der künstlerischen Leitung beratend zur Seite.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Petra Hertel

Assistenz der Projektleitung

Seit 2013 betreut sie, als Verwaltungsangestellte an der Hochschule für Musik, die Studiengänge Jazz und Populäre Musik, EMP und den Masterstudiengang Gitarre.
Sie ist Mitarbeiterin im Bereich Organisation und Bewerbung des Jazz Campus Mainz Programms.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Silas Engel

Social Media

Silas Engel studiert derzeit Jazz-Trompete und -Klavier an der Hochschule für Musik Mainz bei u.a. Frank Wellert, Axel Schlosser und Matthias Bergmann und ist in diversen Combos und Bands im Hochschulumfeld aktiv. Darüber hinaus wirkte er im Landesjugendjazzorchester Hessen mit, ist aber nicht nur im Jazz zuhause. Ob Reggae, Latin, Funk oder Neo-Soul - Silas schreckt vor nichts zurück. Seit 2019 ist er als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft bei Moritz Reinisch - Tonmeister der HfM Mainz - als Ton-Ingenieur, Kameramann und Bild-Regisseur (z.B. im Rahmen von "und wir sind LIVE...") tätig. Für den Jazz Campus Mainz ist er zusammen mit Eddy Sonnenschein zuständig für die inhaltliche und administrative Betreuung der Social Media Kanäle sowie Beratung und Unterstützung in der Web-Präsenz.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eddy Sonnenschein

Social Media

Eddy Sonnenschein ist ein Jazz-Schlagzeuger und Improvisationskünstler aus Mainz. Seit Beginn seines Jazzstudiums an der HfM Mainz bei Hendrik Smock, konnte er mit vielen seiner Dozenten und Mentoren im Rahmen verschiedenster Projekte zusammenarbeiten und auftreten, z.B. mit Sebastian Sternal, Claudius Valk, Ulf Kleiner, Rafael Klemm, etc. Besonders hervorzuheben ist das Programm zum Beethoven-Jahr 2020 mit seiner Band Stella und Claudius Valk. Mit dieser Band nahm Eddy im Sommer 2020 sein Jazz-Debutalbum im LOFT Köln auf (VÖ: Anfang 2021). Ebenfalls 2021 wird ein Album mit dem Rainald Brederling Quintett im Rahmen einer Release-Tour erscheinen. Sie widmen sich Eigenkompositionen zwischen Modern Jazz und freier Improvisation. Neben diesen beiden Hauptprojekten ist Eddy  in verschiedenen Bands als Sideman tätig, u.a. bei Fraktion Fe, Klaus Gasteiger Organ Trio, Barbara Greshake und Band, uvm. Eddy Sonnenschein wird von Live-Music-Now und der Hans- und Eugenia Jütting Stiftung gefördert. Für den Jazz Campus Mainz ist er zusammen mit Silas Engel zuständig für die inhaltliche und administrative Betreuung der Social Media Kanäle sowie Beratung und Unterstützung in der Web-Präsenz.